Veterans Hockey Carnival


Team Club Solero

The Ipoh Lads Recreation and Social Club paid honour to10 former Hockey Coaches from Perak at their prize presentation dinner recently. The event was part of their first Ipoh Lads Veteran Hockey Carnival and Fund Raising Dinner for their junior programme.

The 10 coaches, Bryan Fernandez, T.C. Sharma, V. Maniam, M. Vishnu, Elison Netto, Noel D’Oliveiro, Benedict Arrias, Balachander, Loh Ah Kew and V. Selvarajah (better known as Uncle Sam) were honoured for their contribution to the development of the sport.

As an example V. Selvarajah, 72, had represented the state from 1961 till 1972 and was in the team that won the Razak Cup in 1966. He formed the Perak Veterans Team in 1984 and helped the ICHA organise the Ipoh Hockey League and Sultan Azlan Shah Tournaments until 2007.

Earlier in the day the Veterans Hockey Carnival was played out at Stadium Sultan Azlan Shah between 10 teams, 2 from Perak, 1 from Penang and the rest from Selangor and KL.

The carnival in the morning was officially opened by state Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Chairman Dato’ Zainal Fadzi Paharudin. In his speech Zainal commended the club for helping to promote and develop the sport and coming up with the junior programme plan.

The Organising Chairman of the event, Sharan Kumar, explained that the junior programme was the club’s 5-year project to select 30 under-12 players whom the club will groom till age 18.

The tournament held earlier in the day had the air of a carnival as the players’ families were present to cheer on their teams.

The champion of the winner’s pool was Club Solero while the champion from the loser’s pool was Club Synergy. Incidentally Club Synergy was dubbed the ‘ladies team’ as they had a female player Victoria Lamb, playing for them.


Related posts:

2 thoughts on “Veterans Hockey Carnival

  1. after many useless people try to stop our tournament, we still manage to organize a successful tournament…. god is not with us …. god are in us…

Comments are closed.