Table Tennis Championship 2011


The 48th Malaysia Table Tennis Championship 2011 was held over four days at Stadium Indera Mulia, Ipoh in December last year. It was organised by the Perak Table Tennis Association (PkTTA) with Dato’ Thong Fah Chong as its president.

A total of 130 players were entered in the championship, forming 15 teams, representing all states in Malaysia, including the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya. Malaysian Armed Forces (MAF) participated with a contingent consisting of five players.

The men’s single title was won by Chan Koon Wah of MAF, Ng Sock Khim from Kedah won the women’s single crown, Mohd. Syakirin Ibrahim and Chan Koon Wah from MAF, the men’s doubles, Kueh Wan May and Wendy Lau Jun Zhen from Sarawak, the women’s doubles and Sarawak’s Chai Kiang Peng and Kueh Wan May, the mixed doubles. The overall team champion was MAF for men while Selangor wrested the women’s title.

Perak, being the host, was allowed to enter 20 players. The women’s team won third placing.

This was the fourth national-level tournament organised by PkTTA since inception in 1964. This year’s tournament will be hosted by Negeri Sembilan.