Thunderbolts Win League Title


Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI) Thunderbolts won the Malaysia Junior Hockey League crown beating UniKL Young Guns 2-1 at the Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Stadium, Ipoh on Sunday, March 4. The final matches were played on the stadium’s newly laid blue pitch, the third of its kind in the world. Thunderbolts took home RM25,000 in prize money while the Young Guns, RM15,000. They were runner-up in 2010 and 2011.

In the third place playoff, Sekolah Sukan Bukit Jalil (SSBJ) trounced MBI-Anderson 3-1, with three successive goals from the 54th to 60th minute, after trailing in the first half of the match. Both teams played their hearts out as they strove for a podium finish. SSBJ bagged RM12,000 while MBI-Anderson won RM10,000.

HRH Sultan Azlan Shah, who watched the finals accompanied by Chief Minister, Dato’ Seri DiRaja Dr Zambry Abd Kadir and Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) officials, presented medals to the winners.

Roll of Honour: Best Player – Mohd. Syafiq Zulzairin (UniKL). Man of the Match – Firhan Asharri (SSTMI). Best Goalkeeper – Mohd Adi Fazri Abdul Rahim (MSSPP-USM). Top Scorer – Mohd. Shahril Saabah (SSTMI). Fair Play – Kedah HA Juniors.