Malacca Womens Champs - malaysia ipoh hockey

National Indoor Hockey Tournament 2012

The recently concluded National Indoor Hockey Tournament, held at Stadium Indera Mulia, Ipoh, from May 31 to June 2 saw the participation of 22 teams made up of 14 men and 8 women teams.
The tournament, as from this year been renamed the Raja (Dato’ Seri) Ashman Shah Cup, in memory of the late Raja (Dato Seri) Ashman Shah, second son of HRH Sultan Azlan Shah who passed away on March 30.
The Armed Forces emerged as Champions
This year’s tournament was held on the sidelines of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup held from May 24 till June 3 at the Stadium Sultan Azlan Shah, Ipoh.
The Armed Forces were the champion of the national Indoor Tournament when they beat Kuala Lumpur 3-1 on penalty strokes after a 4-4 draw at the end of the regulation time.

Malacca, the Women Champs

Malacca emerged as the Women’s champion after they trounced PDRM 4-0, two goals of which was scored by Nor Aisyah Yaacob and one each by Ayu Malina Zainuddin and Awaratul Aisyah Yaacob. Nor Aisyah was a top scorer in the tournament with a tally of 30 goals.

HRH Sultan Azlan Shah presented the trophy to the men’s team while FIH President, Leandro Negre, to the women’s team.