Invitational Darts Tournament


A total of 19 teams descended upon the Royal Ipoh Club on Saturday, September 7 for the club’s Invitational Darts Tournament 2013.


The players were from 11 affiliated clubs with some having two or more teams representing their side. Singapore Recreation Club was one of the few foreign teams in the competition. The host had four teams with five players to a team.

11 affiliated clubs participated. (clockwise) Penang Sports Club, PJ Club (Eagles), Selangor and Federal Territories Eurasian Association and Port Dickson Sports Club

Club President, Dr Selvakumar, started the ball rolling by bursting the balloon with a single dart.

Overall Champions PJ Club (Hawks). At extreme right is RIC Club President Dr Selvakumar

The tournament stretched over the weekend with the preliminaries beginning at 9.30am on Saturday, September 7 and the finals late in the evening of Sunday, September 8.

PJ Club (Hawks) was adjudged the overall champion for the tournament.

Organising Chairman, N. Sathivel of Royal Ipoh Club, described the event as one of its kind. He was overwhelmed by the response and the competitive spirit of the participants. “The camaraderie among darters is exceptional,” he told Ipoh Echo.