Tag Archives: perak state assembly speaker Datuk S.K. Devamany

Devamany is Perak’s New Speaker


Perak’s elected representatives from the recent 13th General Election congregated on the afternoon of Friday June 28 at Perak’s State Secretariat to elect a new Speaker for the 13th Session and to take their Oath of Office.

speaker 1

MIC’s vice president Datuk S.K. Devamany was elected as the new Speaker for the 13th Assembly. Devamany won with 31 votes against his opponent with 28 votes. The Deputy Speaker elected is Datuk Nasarudin Hashim (BN-Bota).

Devamany who won at the Cameron Highlands seat in 2008 lost out in the recent election to Parti Sosialis Malaysia’s (PSM) Dr Michael Jeyakumar when he contested at Sungai Siput.

The selection for the Speaker’s position was taken by a ballot paper vote which was subsequently read out by the State Assembly secretary, Rumaizi Baharin, over the microphone and witnessed closely by YB Wong Kah Woh (DAP-Canning).

speaker 11

Devamany’s name was proposed by Dato’ Seri Dr Zambry Abd Kadir (BN-Pangkor) and seconded by Saarani Mohamad (BN-Kota Tampan) while the Opposition’s choice was Batu Gajah MP V. Sivakumar proposed by Abu Bakar Hussian (PAS-Titi Serong) and seconded by Dato’ Ngeh Koo Ham (DAP-Sitiawan).

After the speaker was elected the elected State Assemblymen then pledged their oath of office.

speaker 12

The meeting of the Assembly started at 3pm and was adjourned at 5.30pm.

The first gathering of the Assembly, despite a short dispute about the closing date for the nomination of speaker, was managed well which was commented by Opposition leader Dato’ Seri Nizar Jamaluddin.


Other points highlighted by the Opposition, which they wished to ensure were practised by the new Speaker, was to have all questions answered after each session, provide live telecast of the proceedings and provide sufficient time to discuss the various policies.