Perak Wins Big


The Perak contingent was declared the champion in the Girls Free-Sparring 10 to 13 year old Division at the recently concluded National Youth Tae Kwan-do Championship 2011 held at the Cheras Badminton Stadium, Kuala Lumpur.

The Perak team, consisting of 36 exponents and led by the Perak Tae Kwan-do Association (WTF) President, Nawas and coaches, Liew Sang and Jay Ganesh, won 2 gold, 4 silver and 6 bronze. The championship serves as a medium to select potential candidates for the National Sports Academy Bukit Jalil. They will be trained for the 2016 and 2020 Olympics.

The annual championship, the second in the series, is jointly organised by the National Sports Council, Milo and the National Tae Kwan-do Association (WTF).

Yap Nai Wong and Jacintha Quek Xinpeng were the gold medal winners.