Ipoh International Run 2012


The 17th edition of Ipoh International Run received a record entry of 17,605 participants from 20 countries. Thailand was the largest with 79. HRH Raja DiHilir Perak, Raja Jaafar bin Raja Muda Musa flagged off the runners.

Besides the usual 21‑km, 10-km, 7-km and 5-km divisions, a new category was introduced named, “Fun Run Category”. This was specifically meant for those who wanted to have a good time.

Mayor Dato’ Roshidi Hashim was very happy with the encouraging response. He thanked the organising committee for their commitment and sponsors for their generosity in making the run a success.

Consul General Malaysia based in Songkhla, Mohd Aini Atan, congratulated the mayor for his hard work, particularly in promoting the event overseas. He believed that Thais would give established runners a run for their money. It would also help strengthen bilateral ties between Ipoh and Thailand.

Hat Yai’s acting mayor, Wasan Musem, thanked Roshidi for the hospitality of Ipohites. He was overwhelmed by the number of runners.

Cash prizes worth RM100,000 were given to winners of all the categories. Participants also had the chance to win lucky draw prizes, which included television sets, motorcycles and electrical goods, among others.

The Men’s Open 21-km Category saw a clean sweep by Kenyan runners. Lilan Kennedy Kiproo won in 1 hr 16 secs. The Women’s Open 21-km Category was won by Kenyan lass, Eunice Nyawira in 1 hr 8 mins and 32 secs. Frenchman Lautredouz Jean Pierre took the Men’s Veteran 21-km title in 1hr 8 mins and 41 secs.