Tag Archives: Perak youth hockey

25th Perak Youth Hockey Tournament


The recent MILO-MBI-MNS 2013 Perak Youth Hockey Tournament, which was played at Ipoh Padang and Stadium Azlan Shah on June 22 and 23, resembled a carnival.1

A total of 175 teams from throughout Malaysia descended on Ipoh to compete in the tournament which was open to both boys and girls in the U12, U15 and U18 categories.

The 25th Anniversary tournament was organised by Ipoh City Hockey Association (ICHA) in collaboration with MBI, Perak Sports Council and Nestle Malaysia.

Luckily for the organisers, despite the haze engulfing the south of the country, Ipoh was spared on that particular weekend and competitions were played on schedule.

The results of the competition are as follows:

U12 Girls: Bukit Bandaraya (KL) beat Maybank Juniors (1-0).

U12 Boys: SK Cator Avenue (Ipoh) beat Bukit Bandaraya Boys KL ( 1-0).

U15 Girls: Team SSTMI Kucing (Sekolah Sukan Tunku Mahkota Ismail) Johore bt SSTMI Helang (1-0).

U15 Boys: SMK Syed Hassan “A”(Perlis) beat SMK Syed Hassan “B” 1-0.

U18 Girls: SSTMI Jaguar beat SSTMI Cobra 4-3.

U18 Boys: Bukit Jalil Sports School beat Anderson Tigers 1-0.

Team SSTMI were the big winners for being champions and runners up in two categories, U15 girls and U18 girls.

In the U12 boys category, SK Cator Avenue players, Mohd Shamir Mohd Irfan was voted as Most Promising player and Mohd Danial as Best Goalkeeper. For the U12 girls, Kirandeep Kaur from Bukit Bandaraya Girls School was voted best player.