Hockey: 22nd Sultan Azlan Shah Cup on Schedule

The 22nd Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Men’s International Hockey Tournament to be held from March 9 to 17 promises to be an exciting event. Six teams will be participating and these are Australia (ranked no. 2), Pakistan (5th), New Zealand (6th), Korea (8th) India (11th) and Malaysia (13th).

“All of these teams are the No. 1 teams and all will be using the SAS Tournament to prepare for the qualification for the World Cup Tournament to be held next year,” said Perak Hockey Association President Dato’ Abdul Rahim Mohd Ariff after chairing the meeting of the preparatory committee for the tournament.

Stadium Azlan Shah is currently undergoing upgrading work to provide covered stands throughout the stadium while a lift is also being installed at the main grandstand building. All work will be ready well in time before the start of the tournament.

The first match will be played between New Zealand and Pakistan at 4.05pm on March 9. Malaysia will play against Korea the same evening beginning at 8.05pm. Astro Arena will be covering the event.

During this time too, the hockey coaching and umpiring courses at the Raja Ashman Shah Hockey Academy, next to the Stadium, will be held.

The Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament is the longest running invitational hockey tournament which initially started in 1983. Stadium Sultan Azlan Shah will also be the venue for another international hockey tournament, the Hockey Asia Cup Tournament slotted to take place in August this year.


Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button