MRA Awards 2012

The Perak Turf Club held the MRA (Malayan Racing Association) Cup at its course recently. The race was over a distance of 1400 metres for horses aged 3 years old and above. The club had the honour of hosting the MRA Awards 2012 this year, which was held immediately after the cup race.

There were some anxious moments before the start of the race, as the skies opened up and rain started to fall. However, there was a sigh of relief as the deluge trickled into a drizzle just as the horses were about to scramble out of the starting gates.

The MRA Awards is a significant event for the local racing industry. The occasion is held as a form of recognition for horse-owners, trainers, jockeys and thoroughbreds for their achievements. It provides an opportunity for the racing fraternity to make new friends or renew friendship and to share ideas. It also signifies the unity and cooperation among the four turf clubs – the Selangor Turf Club, the Penang Turf Club, the Singapore Turf Club and the Perak Turf Club.

The presentation ceremony took place at the VIP Lounge. Members of sister clubs were invited to present awards to recipients in the various categories namely, Champion Owner, Champion Trainer, Champion Jockey, Champion Apprentice Jockey, Malaysian-bred Champion Horse and Champion Horse of the Year.

Tan Sri V. Jeyaratnam, Chairman of the Perak Turf Club, thanked everyone present for their support.

SH Ong

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button