Secondary School Scholarship Award

A total of 136 deserving students were awarded the Secondary School Scholarship Award (SSSA) set up by Rotary Club of Ipoh in a ceremony held at SMJK Poi Lam school hall on Thursday, January 21 with guest-of-honour Hj Hasni bin Hashim, North Kinta District Education Officer.

Hasni lauded the Rotary Club of Ipoh for sustaining the yearly programme to assist needy students despite the current downturn of the economy. The scholarship fund was established back in 1971. Secondary schools in Kinta district participate by entrusting a sum of money to this fund which would be matched on a Ringgit for Ringgit basis by the club. The interest received from the combined sum would be given back every year in the form of scholarships to the participating schools.

The awardees, selected based on their scholastic ability and financial needs, are from SMK Ave Maria Convent, SMK Methodist (ACS), SMK Main Convent, SMJK Perempuan Perak, SMK Perempuan Methodist, SMJK Sam Tet, Sekolah Tuanku Abdul Rahman, SMK St Michael, SMK Tarcisian Convent, Wesley Methodist School, SMJK Yuk Choy and SMJK Poi Lam respectively.

A sum of RM13,600 was presented this year to the 12 participating schools.

Also present at the joyous occasion were Dr Kok Fu Loon, president of Rotary Club Ipoh, Lau Win Sang, community service director of the club, Leong Kar Yeong, organising chairman and Koit Sim Siang, principal of the hosting school.

Mei Kuan

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button