5000 Joined Sultan Nazrin Shah Run

When it first started five years ago, the annual Sultan Nazrin Shah Run (formerly known as Sultan Azlan Shah Run) was attended by only 600 runners in 2011. The numbers have since grown to a total number of 5000 runners, recorded during this year’s run, held at Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Kangsar on November 13.

Raja Dato’ Seri Yong Sofia, the sister of Sultan Nazrin Shah, a former runner herself, was the organiser of the event. She believes that not only will such activities promote a healthier lifestyle but also a chance for the public to meet and take photos with Sultan Nazrin Shah.

“It is such a great affair to see runners of all ages, races and gender today. It is amazing to see how the number of runners keeps on increasing and I hope more will join next year,” said Raja Yong Sofia.

The event was attended by Sultan Nazrin Shah and his wife, Tuanku Zara Salim Davidson and their two children Raja Azlan Muzaffar Shah and Raja Nazira Safya Shah. Menteri Besar of Perak, Dato’ Seri DiRaja Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir and Kuala Kangsar’s member of Parliament, Datin Mastura Mohd Yazid were also present at the event where they ran about 2km together with Sultan Nazrin Shah and his family.

Among other guests who attended the event were Malaysian para-athletes: Mohammad Ridzuan Mohamad Puzi and Abdul Latif Romly who won gold medals at the 2016 Rio Paralympic.

“While we were running, there were a few locals who kept on cheering the runners. I  wanted to give up but eventually finished my very first running competition. I will definitely join again next year,” said Nur Izzaihan Zahar, 27, from Ipoh who was among the runners of the day.

Muhammad Ramzan Jani Mohd Pittli from the Open Man category grabbed the first medal for the 15km section when he completed the race in just 55 minutes and 20 seconds. Ong Sue Min from the Open Women category also grabbed the first medal at the same section  when she finished the race in 1 hour 7 minutes and 59 seconds.

The 10km category saw Gohkal Raj (Open Men) in first place with 39 minutes and 8 seconds followed by Shalini (Open Women) at 53 minutes 47 seconds. The last category was a run of 7km where Muhammad Syazwan Shahjahan (Men) won after completing the race at 26 minutes 5 seconds followed by Loshini (Women) at 31 minutes 13 seconds for the same category.

Ili Aqilah

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button