Kenyan Mburu Won IIR 2017

The 22nd edition of the Ipoh International Run (IIR 2017), held on Sunday, August 6, at Dataran Bandaraya Ipoh (MBI Square), saw over 8000 participants from 14 countries competing in 11 categories. Ipoh’s twin city, Nanning, China, was represented by eight runners led by its deputy mayor for the first time ever.

Consisting of the 21km, 10km, 7km and  5km categories, the annual run was flagged off by Dato’ Shahrul Zaman Yahya, Executive Councillor for Human Resource, Youth and Sports. Present was Mayor Dato’ Zamri bin Man, the chairperson of the central committee of IIR 2017.

The event, initially known as “Ipoh Half Marathon”, began in 1985 and was organised by the Rotary Club of Ipoh. City Council took over in 1991. In view of the increase in participation, from in and out of the country, the run was renamed ‘International Ipoh Run’ in 2000. Subsequently, it was listed as an on-going event in Tourism Malaysia’s calendar.

“Some participants have a collection of IIR t-shirts over the course of 20 years. I wish to thank the sponsors, as their contributions, not only ensure the event’s success but help promote sports tourism in conjunction with Visit Perak Year 2017. This year, the council has set aside prizes worth RM106,000 for all categories,” said Zamri to reporters during a press conference held prior to the run.

List of Winners
Men’s Open International 21km – John Muiruri Mburu (1.06.04)
Women’s Open International 21km – Rutto Beatrice Jepkorir (1.18.41)
Men Veteran 21km – Joseph Mwangi Ngara (1.07.36)
Men’s Open 10km – Nattawut Innum (34.00)
Women’s Open 10km – Khwania Rakkapan (42.11)
Men Senior Veteran 10km – Vadiveelu Arumugam (37.09)
Women Veteran 10km – Sheela a/p Samivellu (40.07)
Men’s Junior 7km – Ganeshraj a/l Selverajen (23.48)
Women’s Junior 7km – Janice Loh Yinjin (29.45)
Men’s Junior 5km – Aajitshwar a/l Ganesan (18.06)
Women’s Junior 5km – Loshini a/p Ragu (22.32.40)

Mei Kuan


Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button