Non-Islamic Houses of Worship Permitted to Operate during the MCO Period

Non-Islamic houses of worship, namely Buddhist temples, Taoist temples, Wat Thai temples, churches, Hindu temples and Gurdwaras are permitted to operate during the MCO period effective February 12 till 18. 

It is subjected to the following SOPs as stated in a media statement by the Ministry of National Unity dated today (February 13):

  1. number of devotees present does not exceed 30 at a time
  2. houses of worship are required to conduct 30-minute sanitisation works before and after religious activities
  3. use of MySejahtera code scan to record attendance except for devotees of age 60 and above and without a smartphone

The schedule for praying times is as illustrated:

  1. Buddhist temples, Taoist temples, Wat Thai temples, churches – 6am till 2pm
  2. Hindu temples – 6am till 10am & 5pm till 9pm
  3. Gurdwaras – 6am till 9am

Show More

Tan Mei Kuan

Tan Mei Kuan graduated with first-class honours and book prize from University of Malaya majoring in languages and linguistics (English). She is proficient in both written and spoken English and Malay. She is also conversant in Mandarin and has knowledge of Japanese and Korean languages. Mei Kuan has been on the Dean’s List for three years running. Having written for the campus newspaper and residential college magazine, joining Ipoh Echo has helped utilise her writing and language skills. In her spare time she enjoys running (races).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button