PM Announces Cabinet

By Mei Kuan

Prime Minister Dato’ Sri Ismail Sabri Yaakob today (August 27) unveiled the list of ministers and deputy ministers with the consent of Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

“The cabinet formed today is a management team that will work with the people. The Cabinet needs to work fast and be united in the effort of freeing Malaysia from the threats of the COVID-19 pandemic, economic downturn and political turmoil,” Ismail explained.

According to him, the cabinet will run on three principles: be alert for current needs, be responsible and trustworthy, as well as restore the confidence of the people.

“The cabinet also takes a new approach which is more open and follows the aspirations of the Malaysian Family (Keluarga Malaysia) with more efficient delivery of service and information,” he stated during the televised announcement.

“I will ensure that the cabinet prioritises high-performance work culture. Thus, every Ministry needs to make short-term and long-term plannings as well as achieve the set targets,” he said, adding that every ministry needs to prove early achievement in the period of the first 100 days.

The list of ministers and deputy ministers is as follows:


Minister of International Trade and Industry: Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali

Deputy: Datuk Lim Ban Hong


Minister of Defence: Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein

Deputy: Datuk Seri Ikhmal Hisham bin Abdul Aziz


Minister of Finance: Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz

Deputy I: Mohd Shahar Abdullah

Deputy II: Tuan Haji Yamani Hafez Musa


Minister of Works: Datuk Seri Haji Fadillah Yusof

Deputy: Datuk Arthur Joseph Kurup


Minister of Education: Datuk Dr Mohd Radzi Md Jidin

Deputy I: Dato’ Dr Mah Hang Soon

Deputy II: Datuk Mohamad Alamin


Minister at Prime Minister’s Department (Economy): Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed

Deputy: Eddin Syazlee Shith


Minister at Prime Minister’s Department (Special Functions): Datuk Dr Hj Abdul Latiff Ahmad

Deputy: Datuk Mastura Tan Sri Dato’ Mohd Yazid


Minister at Prime Minister’s Department (Parliament and Laws): Datuk Seri Dr Haji Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar

Deputy: Datuk Wira Hajjah Mas Ermieyati Samsuddin


Minister at Prime Minister’s Department (Religious Affairs): Tuan Idris Ahmad

Deputy: Datuk Haji Ahmad Marzuk Shaary


Minister at Prime Minister’s Department (Sabah and Sarawak Affairs): Datuk Seri Panglima Dr Maximus Johnity Ongkili

Deputy: Dato’ Hajah Hanifah Hajar Taib


Minister of Transport: Datuk Seri Ir Dr Wee Ka Siong

Deputy: Dato’ Henry Sum Agong


Minister of Environment: Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man

Deputy: Dato’ Dr Mansor Othman


Minister of Human Resources: Datuk Seri Saravanan Murugan

Deputy: Datuk Haji Awang Hashim 


Minister of Federal Territories: Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim

Deputy: Datuk Seri Jalaluddin Alias


Minister of Women, Family and Community: Datuk Seri Rina Harun

Deputy: Dato’ Hajah Siti Zailah Mohd Yusoff


Minister of Higher Education: Dato’ Dr Noraini Ahmad

Deputy: Datuk Dr Ahmad Masrizal Muhammad


Minister of Energy and Natural Resources: Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan

Deputy: Datuk Ali Anak Biju


Home Minister: Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin

Deputy I: Datuk Seri Dr Haji Ismail Haji Mohamed Said

Deputy II: Jonathan Yassin


Minister of Health: Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar

Deputy I: Dato’ Dr Noor Azmi Ghazali

Deputy II: Datuk Aaron Ago Dagang


Minister of Agriculture and Food Industry: Datuk Seri Dr Ronald Kiandee

Deputy I: Datuk Seri Hj Ahmad Hamzah

Deputy II: Dr Nik Muhammad Zawawi Salleh


Minister of Rural Development: Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid

Deputy I: Datuk Seri Abdul Rahman Mohamad

Deputy II: Datuk Haji Hasbi Habibollah


Foreign Minister: Dato’ Saifuddin Abdullah

Deputy: Haji Kamarudin Jaffar


Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs: Datuk Alexander Nanta Linggi

Deputy: Dato’ Rosol Wahid


Minister of Communications and Multimedia: Tan Sri Panglima Haji Annuar Haji Musa

Deputy: Datuk Zahidi Zainul Abidin 


Minister of Housing and Local Government: Datuk Seri Reezal Merican Naina Merican

Deputy: Datuk Sri Ismail Abdul Mutalib


Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation: Datuk Seri Dr Adham Baba

Deputy: Datuk Haji Amzad Mohamed @ Hashim


Minister of Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives: Tan Sri Noh Haji Omar

Deputy: Tuan Muslimin Yahaya


Minister of Plantation Industries and Commodities: Datuk Dr Hajah Zuraidah binti Kamaruddin

Deputy I: Datuk Seri Wee Jeck Seng

Deputy II: Willie Mongin 


Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture: Datuk Seri Hajah Nancy Shukri

Deputy: Datuk Seri Dr Santhara Kumar Ramanaidu


Minister of National Unity: Datuk Halimah Mohamed Sadique

Deputy: Tuan Wan Ahmad Fayshal Wan Ahmad Kamal


Minister of Youth and Sports: Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Datuk Azumu

Deputy: Datuk Seri Ti Lian Ker


The new Cabinet will be sworn in on Monday, August 30 at 2.30pm at the palace in Kuala Lumpur.

The Prime Minister’s full announcement can be read here.


Get your local news fast. Download the Ipoh Echo App on your mobile. Available on both Google Playstore and Apple Appstore.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button