9th Tan Sri Lee Loy Seng Perak Chess Championship

For the 9th year running, the Tan Sri Lee Loy Seng Perak Chess Championship was organised by Persatuan Catur Negeri Perak (PCNP).

This championship is sponsored by Kuala Lumpur Kepong Berhad in memory of their founder, the late Tan Sri Lee Loy Seng.

This year, the championship is played over six legs in five different towns in five different districts in Perak. These towns are Sungai Siput, Taiping, Batu Gajah, Tapah, and Ipoh (two legs).

On Sunday, July 8, the 5th leg was played in SMK Bandar Baru Putra. A total of 109 players took part. The winner of the open category was won by National Master Fong Yit San.

Fong Yit San, representing Perak, also won the Malaysian Chess Championship 2018 which was held in Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris from June 28 to July 3. For this feat, Dr Yee Meng Kheong, the advisor for PCNP gave a personal reward of RM5000 to Fong.

Present was Chan Swee Loon, President of PCNP.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button