Perak Assembly Dissolves, Perak to Run GE15 Simultaneously

Controversy over whether Perak will hold the 15th General Election (GE15) simultaneously came to an end today when the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) was dissolved.

The matter was announced by the Menteri Besar of Perak, Datuk Seri Saarani Mohamad at a special press conference at the Batang Padang District and Land Office this morning.

He said that the dissolution to enable the State Election to be held simultaneously with the General Election at the Federal level, was after getting the consent of the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah.

Perak will join Pahang and Perlis to hold elections together with the elections at the Parliamentary level.

In the last GE14, the Perak state assembly was dominated by a coalition of Pakatan Harapan (PH) parties that used the PKR logo, with 29 seats while Barisan Nasional got 27 seats and Pas three.

However, in March 2020 the Perak state government changed after 32 members of the State Legislative Assembly (ADUN) agreed to form a new government.

It was formed as a result of a combination of representatives from UMNO (25 seats), PAS (three seats) and Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (four seats).

by Rosli Mansor

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button