15th General Election: General BN Nomination

by Rosli Mansor

Barisan Nasional’s (BN) victory at the Parliamentary and state levels to form a government is more important as a party agenda than being a candidate.

Perak BN chairman, Datuk Seri Saarani Mohamad said, therefore no party should be discouraged if not selected as a candidate.

He said that he personally congratulated the names selected to be nominated to represent Perak BN in this election.

“I also apologise to my friends who were not nominated because our goal is not to be a candidate but to win in the next general election

“What we want to emphasise is the BN symbol.

“As I have always stressed that the GE victory is based on the number of ballot papers in the ballot box. That is what is important,” he said.

He said this while speaking at the Perak BN Candidate Announcement ceremony for GE15 at the Aman Jaya Convention Center here this morning.

A total of 126 UMNO leaders in the state of Perak offered themselves as candidates to contest for seats in the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) and Parliament.

However, only 24 parliamentary candidates and 59 state assembly candidates were selected by the party’s top leadership after due consideration.

Among the names nominated in the GE for the Parliamentary seat in Perak is UMNO Youth Leader, Datuk Dr Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki, who will contest in the Gerik Parliament.

Mohd. Shafiq Fhadly who is also the Head of BN Communications contested in the Larut Parliament, replacing Datuk Mohamad Kazim Elias or Ustaz Kazim who withdrew.

The Tambun Parliamentary seat is contested by the UMNO Head of Tambun Division, Dato’ Aminuddin Hanafiah while the two DUNs namely Manjoi and Hulu Kinta are represented by Dato’ Azizul Kama Abd. Dear and Datuk Mazlan Abdul Rahman.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button