Anak PerakCommunityGovernmentNationNEWSPerakPolitics

Perak is the first state to take the MB oath after GE15

by Rosli Mansor

Perak became the first state whose MB was sworn in after the end of the 15th General Election (GE15) last Saturday.

The Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah, gave his approval for the Kota Tampan State Legislative Assembly member, Datuk Seri Saarani Mohamad, to be sworn in as Menteri Besar of Perak at Istana Iskandariah Kuala Kangsar at 5.40pm yesterday.

The Perak state assembly has 59 state assembly members and needs the support of 30 assemblymen to get a simple majority to form the government.

In GE15, Perikatan Nasional (PN) won 26 seats while Pakatan Harapan (PH) and Barisan Nasional (BN) won 24 and 9 seats respectively, with the latter two forming a new state government in Perak with 33 seats between them.

The Perak government was previously formed by a combination of three parties namely BN, Bersatu and Pas.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button