Sultan Johor Chosen as the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong

BY: Rosli Mansor
Source and foto: Bernama

KUALA LUMPUR – On Friday, Sultan Johor, Sultan Ibrahim Almarhum Sultan Iskandar, was selected as the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong for a five-year term, effective from January 31, 2024.

The Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal, Tan Sri Syed Danial Syed Ahmad, announced the election in a statement on Friday, following the 263rd (Special) Meeting of the Conference of Rulers at the National Palace today.

Sultan Ibrahim will succeed Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, whose term is set to conclude on January 30 next year.

The meeting also elected Sultan Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah, as the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong for the same period.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button