Enjoy Fresh Produce Once More

19 out of 29 overall farmer’s markets in Perak are now allowed to operate by local authorities (PBT) during the ongoing Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO), with adherence to standard operating procedures (SOPs). 

According to the State Executive Councillor for Agriculture, Fishery, Farming and Food Security, Dato’ Abdul Yunus Jamahri, reopening farmer’s markets is a great momentum for recovery during the RMCO to guarantee food security in the state, besides handling issues which may negatively affect the agricultural product market. 

“Hopefully, with farmer’s markets back to business, it will spur the community’s economy further,” he expressed in a media session today on June 24 at the State Secretariat Building. 

“Farmer’s markets are also a platform for seasonal produce, such as durians and petai, which are reaching their peak of production recently,” Abdul Yunus added. 

Consumers will be able to once again enjoy savings and reasonable prices at farmer’s markets, besides fresh produce like fish and poultry straight from their source. 

“However, visitors to farmer’s markets are still subject to SOPs imposed by the government, such as maintaining social (physical) distance, wearing face masks and applying hand sanitisers,” he urged. “Authorities will be stationed at every farmer’s market to ensure their adherence to SOPs.” 

Farmer’s markets by districts that are allowed following dates are as below:

  1. Kinta and Kampar
  • Kampung Simee (June 27)
  • Medan Gopeng (June 28)
  • Taman Kledang (June 28)


2. Larut Matang, Selama and Kerian

  • Bagan Serai (June 26)
  • Taiping (June 27)
  • Selama (June 29)


3. Batang Padang and Muallim

  • Tanjung Malim (July 1)
  • Masjid Tapah (July 7)


4. Hulu Perak

  • Lenggong (July 2)


5. Kuala Kangsar

  • Kampung Perlop 2 (June 27)
  • Sungai Siput (July 2)
  • Kuala Kangsar (July 4)


6. Perak Tengah

  • Parit 2 (June 24)
  • Changkat Lada (June 25)
  • Kampung Gajah (June 26)
  • Parit (June 27)
  • Seri Iskandar (June 27)

7. Teluk Intan

  • Langkap (June 29)
  • Dataran Nanas Selabak (July 1)


Yet to be allowed to operate by PBT are as below:


  1. Kinta and Kampar
  • Masjid An Nur


2. Batang Padang and Muallim 

  • Tapah
  • Behrang Station
  • Tapah Road
  • Intan Setia


3. Hulu Perak

  • Gerik


4. Manjung

  • TLDM Lumut 


5. Teluk Intan

  • Teluk Intan
  • Chenderong Balai


6. Bagan Datuk 

  • Selekoh


On the ones yet to be allowed to operate, Abdul Yunus stated that they will be reopened in stages by PBT once preparations are done adequately. 

“Some markets are in the process of moving to new locations due to insufficient spaces, such as the one in Teluk Intan,” he said. 


Chris Teh

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button