Perak Police’s Tourism Unit: Stationed Across Five Districts

Perak Police have deployed their Tourism Units to 20 tourist hotspots in the state to ensure the safety of the visitors.

Perak Police Chief Datuk Mior Faridalathrash Wahid said, a total of 35 tourism police officers have been deployed in five districts to assist visitors. He said the districts involved are Ipoh, Batu Gajah, Kuala Kangsar, Taiping and Manjung.

“These units have been around for some time but did not cover certain areas previously. So now you can say that we’ve re-organised or rebranded this unit, with 35 members to cover these five districts focusing on 20 locations in the state.”

“We set up this unit to provide a sense of security to tourists visiting Malaysia, whether they come from within or outside the country,” he said.

He said this at a press conference after attending a town hall discussion programme, ‘Towards Safe Tourism in Perak’ and the launch of the Tourism Unit yesterday.

Present was the Executive Councillor for Housing, Local Government and Tourism, Dato’ Nolee Ashilin binti Dato’ Mohammed Radzi

Nolee Ashilin said that the launch of the unit will bring more visitors to the state as the presence of police at strategic locations can give tourists a positive impression.

“We will provide electric scooters to the tourism police, starting with those in Ipoh”.

“The state government will support this endeavor by providing assistance in terms of training and sharing of information,” she added.

The tourism police are a unit that provides information on the laws, customs and cultures of the local community as well as interesting places to visit to tourists.

The tourism police’s attire is a dark blue uniform with a white checkered cap.

The badge which they wear on the left pocket is inscribed with the symbol “i”, an international symbol for “information”.

Rosli Mansor

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button