Speaker Resigns 

The one-day session of the Perak State Legislative Assembly, held at the State Secretariat Building Ipoh on Tuesday, May 12, came to an abrupt stop when Speaker Dato’ Ngeh Koo Ham, announced his resignation. This followed an argument over the appointment of a new speaker.

It began when the Perak Menteri Besar, Dato’ Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu requested that Ngeh leave the assembly since he was no longer the speaker.

A heated exchange of words between Perikatan Nasional (PN) and opposition assemblymen ensued.  

Ngeh had earlier informed the august house that a seven-day notice was required before appointing a new speaker. His suggestion was objected by those present.

The impasse ended when Ngeh announced his resignation as the Speaker. He left the hall followed by opposition members.

Dato’ Mohamad Zahir Abdul Khalid, former Industry, Investment and Corridor Development executive councillor, was nominated by the MB as the 14th Speaker of the Perak State Legislative Assembly. Khalil Yahya, a state assemblyman from Kubu Gajah is the Deputy Speaker.

Mohamad Zahir’s appointment was supported by 32 assemblymen from PN (consisting of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, UMNO and PAS) and three independent assemblymen.

The opening session of the legislative assembly was the first since PN came to power following the collapse of the Pakatan Harapan government in late February.

Faizal was re-appointed MB on March 13 while seven state assemblymen were appointed as state executive councillors on March 31.

The MB also announced the appointment of three new state executive councillors. The three, all from UMNO, are Bota assemblyman Khairul Shahril Mohamad, Ahmad Saidi Mohamad Daud (Changkat Jering) and Mohd Zolkafly Harun (Lintang).

Rosli Mansor


Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button