More Roadblocks in Line with MCO Starting Tomorrow

Some 58 roadblocks (SJR) will be carried out around the state in line with the Movement Control Order (MCO) implementation starting tomorrow (May 10) until May 23.

According to the state police chief of Perak, Datuk Mior Faridalathrash Wahid, the roadblocks comprise an addition of 31 SJR to the existing 27, involving 933 police officers in total.

“This is due to the government’s announcement of both inter-district and interstate travelling bans at areas placed under MCO effective tomorrow.

“Also, 450 SOP adherence monitor teams are mobilised for the purpose.

“The number of SJR and monitor teams will be added based on latest requirements,” he explained via WhatsApp today (May 9).

Ipoh will be placed under MCO starting tomorrow, being under Hulu Kinta Subdistrict (mukim)’s coverage, with other areas including Lahat, Chemor and Tanjung Rambutan, as announced by the National Security Council (MKN) yesterday (May 8).

Previously, Mior stated that the police will be randomly checking toll payments to determine expressway users’ origins.

“Some (users) would claim that they were just travelling between districts.

“To verify those claims, the police will check the amount of toll fee paid. This is common sense. Inter-district toll payments are definitely cheaper than interstate ones.

“However, it is nearly impossible for us to stop and check each passerby, as doing so would result in traffic jams along the expressway.

“Thus, I urge everyone to cooperate and do their part in putting an end to this pandemic. If we still move around without absolute valid reasons, I fear that COVID-19 might be with us for a much longer time,” he expressed.


Chris Teh


Get your local news fast. Download the Ipoh Echo App on your mobile. Available on both Google Playstore and Apple Appstore.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button