Phase 2 of the Perak Sejahtera PRE Starts in September

The state government has agreed to implement Phase 2 of the Perak Sejahtera Economic Stimulus Package (PRE).

According to the Menteri Besar of Perak, Dato’ Saarani Mohamad, the PRE worth RM30.9 million will be executed starting September 1, 2021 until December 31, 2021.

“This followed the government’s concern towards implications caused by the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, which have adversely affected development prospects and subsequently hindered economic growth.”

He said this in his wrap-up speech during the state legislative assembly (DUN) sitting today (August 30).

Essences of the PRE are as per the following:

  1. Extension of late penalties of land tax payment for all ownership types, until December 31, 2021.
  2. Discount offers for lump sum payments of land tax arrears for the year of 2021, until December 31, 2021:
    1. 50 percent for payments made in September;
    2. 30 percent for payments made in October;
    3. 10 percent for payments made in November and December.
  3. Extension of 20 percent discount (parcel rent) offer for stratified business properties, until December 31, 2021.
  4. 10 percent land premiums discount offer for Form 5A and 7G (terms and conditions apply).
  5. Besides improvement and extension of incentives from aspects of land tax, land-related affairs such as business and non-business handovers, document handovers, along with duration extension of Form 5A and 7G will also be considered until December 31, 2021, by the offer of:
    1. Late penalty exemption for business handovers;
    2. Late penalty exemption for ownership revenues;
    3. Form 5A and 7G extension, along with exemption of application fees
    4. Approval period extension for permission letters of ownership transfer / mortgage / lease

Saarani added that this PRE is part of an additional initiative worth RM34.8 million after taking into account the hardships faced by Perakeans due to the pandemic.

“The remainder of RM400,000 will be channeled to 4,000 Perakean undergraduates.

“2,000 recipients will be given RM150 each in terms of financial aid, and the other 2,000 will receive RM50 each, through a newly introduced initiative involving vouchers redeemable for public transport tickets.

“This aid will indirectly benefit undergraduates who are from the B40 and M40 categories,” he elaborated.

For further reading, refer to this article by Ipoh Echo.

The DUN sitting session was thereafter concluded following Saarani’s wrap-up, before proceeding with motions to appoint several members (ADUNs) for four committees, namely the Special Select Committee (for the new building of the Perak State Assembly), the Perak State Public Accounts Committee (PAC), the Rights and Freedom Committee and the Standing Orders Committee.

Chris Teh


Get your local news fast. Download the Ipoh Echo App on your mobile. Available on both Google Playstore and Apple Appstore.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button